Diorshow Mascara and Maximizer vs. Loreal Voluminous Carbon Black

21 Aug

Mascara is one of my makeup must haves! Most days I don’t wear liner or shadow and just rely on trusty mascara to take me from drab to fab.

I am a HUGE fan of Diorshow Mascara! Ever since I discovered it as a senior in Highschool I vowed never to use another brand. When I heard that Dior was coming out with a Maximizer Lash Plumping Serum I knew I just had to have it because of how much I loved the mascara. Dior claims the Lash Serum “instantly primes, plumps and lengthens lashes with an ultra-light and quick-drying formula. The first ‘active serum’ mascara primer also contains a unique cell-conditioning complex made up of hydrolyzed soy proteins that promotes long-term lash growth, strength and vitality.” I went out and bought the Maximizer and started using under my beloved Diorshow Mascara. Immediately I noticed my lashes became noticeably longer (little fibers attached to my lashes) and more defined. After the coat of Maximizer I put on a coat of Mascara. My lashes were noticeably longer, fuller and more defined!

For about a year now I have been using these two Dior products every day and never thought about changing brands, however when real life comes knocking and you realize you have to pay bills over going to your closest M.A.C. store you start to see where you can cut. With Diorshow Masacara at $25 a pop and the Dior Lash Maximizer at $28 I knew I had to (gasp) look for other options. My sister-in-law, Kat, swears by her Loreal Voluminous Carbon Black, only $8.50, and has been using it for years. We were getting ready together one day and decided to do one eye with my Dior Maximizer and Mascara and the other with just Loreal’s Voluminous. I was totally taken back by the results…they looked exactly the same! I did noticed subtle differences in texture (Voluminous was a little stickier), however to the normal onlooker my eyelashes were full, long and noticeable. Although, I must add I use Neutrogena Makeup Remover and the Diorshow is easier to remove in fewer swipes, but I can get over that for saving about $45! For now I am going to finish up my tubes of Dior Maximizer and Mascara (they usually last me about 2-3 months) and then try out Loreal’s Voluminous for a while.

What is your go to mascara? I am always open for new contenders in my treasured makeup bag!

6 Responses to “Diorshow Mascara and Maximizer vs. Loreal Voluminous Carbon Black”

  1. Amanda Chappell August 22, 2012 at 2:06 am #

    I also swear by L’oreal Voluminous. I’ve been using it since 7th grade! Love your blog and am excited to follow you ❤

    • Brittknee August 23, 2012 at 2:31 am #

      Thanks so much for your sweet comments! So happy you found the blog to be a good read, look for more beauty posts in the future, there will definitely be one on skincare!

  2. Laura August 23, 2012 at 2:29 am #

    This is the best stuff ever! Just like nars and it’s dirt cheap! http://www.eyeslipsface.com. The STUDIO brand is the best!

    • Brittknee August 23, 2012 at 9:39 am #

      Thanks Laura for your recommendation, I will put this on my list of makeup must-trys!

  3. My Lucite Dreams August 30, 2012 at 9:59 am #

    Incredibly lashes.. Loreal Voluminous is wonderful. Mascara expires so fast, I like to save my money on it.

    • brittkneekinley August 30, 2012 at 11:13 pm #

      Thanks for your feedback, it always great to hear from another makeup lover! And it’s so true I never realized how much I would save just going with a cheaper brand that works just as well!

Leave a Reply

