My DIY Fall Wreath

31 Aug

Fall is my FAVORITE season, and even though it isn’t September yet (don’t judge too much Sept. starts tomorrow) I just had to have a fall wreath to hang on our door. Ever since I got this little idea in my head, I must confess, I have been pinning wreaths like CRAZY (seriously not exaggerating just look at my “Wreaths” Pinterest Board !) After finding a few faves, I ended up going to the Dollar Tree and Hobby Lobby to search for supplies and just be inspired by things on the shelves. I ended up taking a few elements from a few of my Pinterest wreaths (see below) and made a wreath that, I must admit, am kind of obsessed with 🙂

Wreaths from left to right are from the following amazing blogs: Right Shanty 2 Chic, Middle: Unknown, Left: Story Crafting with Joy.

After getting my inspiration I came home with an oval wreath (I wanted something a little different) and 2 bags full of burlap fabric, felt, moss wrap, pre-made little burlap flags and vintage rosettes (found in scrapbooking), faux berries and a monogram “K” for my last name Kinley (I know you all were thinking Knee :))

Once I got all of my supplies, my sister-in-law, Amanda, and I set out to get started on our craft day. It was a big help having another opinion on layout because I got a little too inspired and came home with wayyy too much stuff (although I did use a bit of everything.) I started out by wrapping the moss wrap around the one half of the wreath where I wasn’t going to put any rosettes. Then I  started to make the burlap rosettes from a tutorial on the Shanty 2 Chic Blog and they were sooo easy! You just take a 2 inch piece of burlap, folded in half, hot glue the end to a piece of felt and wrap in a circular motion until you have the desired size. glue the end to the felt leaving about an inch tail, cut the felt out around where the rosette is and glue the tail to the back! Wahlah a gorgeous, rustic burlap rosette! See the steps below.

Once I got the rosettes done a few in each of the colors of burlap I got. I began to mess around with the layout until I found one I liked. I started mixing the rosettes, pre-made vintage scrapbooking flowers and berries around the “K” monogram. Then I grabbed the hot glue gun and went to work. I used Gorilla Glue for the K to make sure it would stay since it was metal and a little heavier. Trust me the way my husband comes in and out of that door it was bound to fall off one day! Once I had the layout perfect I started on the “Welcome” flags. I strung the pre-made flags on a loose string from the burlap fabric and wrote “Welcome” in a black Sharpie. Then I tied them onto little twigs on the wreath.

DIY fall wreath

One last final touch was the burlap ribbon tied in a bow to hang the wreath. I LOVE it and think it goes perfect with our door color for Fall! What do you think?!

Have you crafted any Fall projects lately? I would love to hear about them and try out some new projects!

2 Responses to “My DIY Fall Wreath”

  1. pillowsalamode August 31, 2012 at 8:43 pm #

    L-O-V-E!!!!!! 🙂

    • brittkneekinley August 31, 2012 at 9:22 pm #

      Thank you so much! I had so much fun making it too 🙂

Leave a Reply

